TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Musicians and injuries; Van Halen hand surgery
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Piano5

29 Posts

Posted - 07/30/2009 :  10:45:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to the forums and without going into too much detail about my TMS story, (which I'll do in a separate thread) I'll let you know that I'm a musician who had to give up guitar for 2 years because of "tendonitis". Well, Sarno's books helped me immensely and I am playing at around 90% The next 10% is a matter TRULY understanding and accepting that there's nothing wrong, and breaking my conditioned responses.

ANYWAYS, a big question on my mind about TMS is about overuse/RSI injuries. I know full well that the human body is not fragile and that we have built up a musculo-skeletal system for just this reason. BUT: To think that we can't damage ourselves is downright silly. If someone who was 300 pounds was forced to run a marathon without stopping, you can be sure they'd injure themselves in some way.

So the question is, when have we damaged ourselves, (ie structural abnormality or overuse) and when is it TMS? Let's face it: Max Weinberg went through several surgeries, and he's been playing with Srpingsteen and Conan O'Brien for years! I suppose we'll see how Eddie Van Halen turns out:

http://www.rollingstone.com/rockdaily/index.php/2009/07/23/exclusive-eddie-van-halen-recovering-after-hand-surgery/

This is not a post of skepticism, but a simple question of knowing the difference. I know there is evidence out there supports that surgery is not always the best option... but what about when it is?

I'm interested to hear people's views on the fuzzy area between anatomy and mind-body disorders.

marytabby