TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Chicken or Egg (Emotion vs. Nervous system)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page  
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

JaneLeslie

USA
88 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2006 :  19:21:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,
I am new to the TMS world but was recently diagnosed (My particular pain problem is fibro.) My TMS doc. said that sometimes biofeedback is helpful because TMS (or AOS as Brady would say) have hypersensitive nervous systems.

Now, here is my question. If our emotions create pain via are Autonomic Nervous system, what is wrong with our nervous systems? Most folks don't have repressed emotion causing constant pain---just us TMS folks.

WHY? Are we born with defective nervous systems? Which came first the repressed emotion or the "jumpy" nervous system?

I know this may be an impossible question, but thought I'd pose it anyway. For instance, biofeedback may not be a great idea if our nervous systems are essentially normal and the problem is strictly emotional. "Correcting" the nervous system may not do anything. Maybe it is like "correcting" a bulging disc!

Am I making any sense here? I want to know because I am starting a lengthy course of biofeedback and if it's going to be like going to the chiropractor who needs it. However if it can calm-down a hyperactivation of the ANS that would be cool! The biofeedback doctor, of course, says it can.

Any thoughts?

Jane

Nor

152 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2006 :  19:39:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
JaneLeslie,