TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 new here, too
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SusiQ217

7 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2006 :  12:46:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am very new to the idea of TMS - I read Dr. Sarno's book, and accept his ideas, but even after reading it several times, I do not have a clue where to begin. I have told my brain to STOP like he suggested and have resumed activities (this darned thing had decided to settle in my back and right side after fleeing my pelvis - my myofascial therapist "chased" it out of there - all before I ever heard of Dr. Sarno). It all makes sense, but NOW WHAT? Since I am a logical person, I guess I am looking for logical directions. I have always had a certain degree of anxiety over my health - for as long as I can remember - but have always been active. Believe me, it all makes sense and I know there is no structural defect, so how do I get rid of this? I do intend to see a phsychotherapist to help with the anxiety/obsessive thoughts, but frankly, I'd rather have the OCD than the pain. Thanks!

rickt

5 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2006 :  16:20:25  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to TMS!

Don't know which you are reading; for me, The Mind/Body Prescription is more helpful than Healing Back Pain. There is more step by step how-to in it. There is an excellent DVD on the Other Resources page of this web site.

Central to my healing was reading the book over and over and over, (primarily the psychology and treatment chapters) and watching parts of the DVD every day. Everybody in my family now knows Dr. Sarno and the patients in the video. We have nick names for them. They have spent hours in my living room.