TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 Success Stories
 Wrist Tendonitis
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

twisted wrist

1 Posts

Posted - 10/17/2013 :  11:38:42  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been playing guitar for 8 years. 1.5 weeks ago I woke up one morning and my left hand was weak and the tendons on the inside of my forearm were swollen and aching. I thought, well maybe I just played too much yesterday. It'll be better in a day or two. But what was strange is that I had never had any discomfort from playing before, including the previous day.

I stopped playing guitar and generally stopped using my left hand for much of anything. I went to see a doctor and she said she thought it was a forearm strain and some tendonitis. She said to rest it and take NSAIDS. I did that, but it was just getting progressively worse. I had read stories of musicians needing to give up their instrument because of tendonitis and I was getting extremely worried and frustrated. Then yesterday the pain and weakness was getting REALLY bad. My hand and arm started tingling. Then the pain started spreading up my arm. to my elbow, upper arm, and eventually my shoulder. Now this didn't make ANY sense at all because I KNEW I hadn't injured my shoulder.