TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 DSM 5 out -Somatic Symptom Disorder
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page  
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

art

1903 Posts

Posted - 06/12/2013 :  15:43:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
When I was a psychology student back in the stone age, we were already laughing at what was then the DSM 3 I believe. Homosexuality by that time was no longer an official psychiatric disorder, but most people thought of it as one. If one were looking for something emblematic of the arrogance and wrong-headedness of the psychiatric profession, one need look no further than their approach to gay patients back in those days, and well beyond in many cases.

It was around that time I read Thomas Szasz and I began to understand the fundamental illogic of treating "disorders" of thought and behavior as if they were actual physical illnesses. Of course, that has added resonance for us mind/body explorers.

Anyway, I think it's safe to say that the practice of psychiatry has caused more misery than it has relieved.

I hope someday we will be taking a more practical approach to mental health (we should always bear in mind we're talking metaphorically here. It's easy to get mixed up otherwise.) by talking more about happiness and fulfillment and its lack, rather than in terms of illness and symptoms...So many people in the world are unhappy. I think it's the price of modernity. It's not people who are sick nearly so much as our false and alienating materialistic society.

Edited by - art on 06/12/2013 16:01:08
Go to Top of Page

pspa123

672 Posts

Posted - 06/12/2013 :  16:36:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Grief and depression in DSM 5.

http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMp1201794
Go to Top of Page

pspa123

672 Posts