TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 newbie question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

momtoone

18 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2007 :  11:43:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all, I am new to this and I am working very hard with the whole Sarno stuff. I found it hard to journal so today I just sat at my computer and began to write about my life, just like it was a book. I really think this may work for me as a starter and then move on to the journaling. I have been off of my pain meds for several days and I am really hurting. I am sure the increase in pain is from the work because I have an increase in anxiety too. My question is does taking something for the pain hurt your recovery or mean that you do not believe this whole heartedly? I feel when the pain gets too bad that it is all I think about. I have done well at distracting it but sometimes I feel like I need something to take the edge off. Any help would be appreciated.

Littlebird

USA
391 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2007 :  13:54:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dr. Sarno actually has some people continue meds for a while, until they make progress. The key is in how you view the med. If you know it's just a temporary aid until you get far enough in the TMS work to have a decrease in the pain, rather than thinking that the med is the only thing that's ever going to reduce the pain, then it's not likely to hinder your progress. It may be better to gradually reduce the med as you progress, rather than to just stop it suddenly, unless you're on a small dose to begin with.

Best wishes in your TMS efforts.
Go to Top of Page

carbar

USA
227 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2007 :  21:48:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote