TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 TMJ Worsening...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page  
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

sundevil67

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 01/03/2007 :  16:05:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a longtime student of Dr. Sarno's teachings, and a former patient. I was able to cure myself of crippling back pain many years ago, so I consider myself someone with a deep understanding of Dr. Sarno's methods. However - I absolutely cannot seem to rid myself of the night-time teeth grinding habit that has left me with horrible teeth and jaw problems. I am breaking my teeth up constantly, and am proceeding to eat through the customer (and very expensive) night guard that my dentist made for me.

How can I retrain my brain to stop doing something while I am unconscious? I am thinking about trying a hypnotist, but am not hopeful because I have never been able to be hypnotized. I am a longtime sufferer of Crohn's Disease, so it is really important that I eat constantly in order to maintain a healthy weight. It is not made any easier by the fact that eating is extremely uncomfortable, with my jaw popping out of place during every bite and my teeth hurting whenever I chew. Anyone have any ideas???

tennis tom

USA
4749 Posts

Posted - 01/03/2007 :  16:48:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sundevil, have you tried calling Dr. Sarno? From what I understand, once your a patient of his, you're in for life. He encourages phone call questions about new conditions that may arise from his past patients.

Just because we have been "cured" of one episode of TMS, it doesn't mean that the human condition doesn't stop throwing psychological chalenges at us.

If it's TMS, then you'll need to get to the psychological roots of what's causing it.