TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Newbie w/a question about books
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sooverit

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 08/30/2006 :  12:09:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new to this whole concept of TMS but it truly makes sense to me. I just finished reading Dr. Sarno's book "The Mindbody Prescription" and in it he describes tons of symptoms that I experience: heartburn, panic disorder (my #1 problem), anxiety, chronic fatigue syndrome, tinnitus, vertigo, neck pain, sinus pain, allergies, bronchitis...the list goes on and on.

Phew! to put it all down is a bit overwhelming. But mainly my question is this: which of Dr. Sarno's books would you recommend next? I am at the point where I am begining to uncover some of my deeper causes of TMS and I really want to proceed with my recovery. I do try to train my brain to recognize the symptoms for what they are since I've been so trained by Drs. to buy into physical explanations. (One Dr. did recognize many of my symtoms as "stress-related" w/out offering any suggested treatment, which made me feel like it is my fault I get sick).

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

sonora sky

USA
181 Posts

Posted - 08/30/2006 :  12:27:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome! If you're looking for a similar read to Mindbody Prescription (MBP), try Healing Back Pain (HBP). His newest book, The Divided Mind (TDM) is excellent, but it is lengthier and more in-depth than his previous books. I would start TDM once you feel that you have a firm understanding of the concepts presented in MBP/HBP. Also, frequent re-reading of Sarno is effective, since the concepts *are* so radically different than what most people are used to.

Best,
ss
Go to Top of Page

Stryder