TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

JaneLeslie

USA
88 Posts

Posted - 08/28/2006 :  13:22:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all,
I am a 45 yr old Newbie who just got the TMS diagnosis. I have had Fibromyalgia for 20 or so years (on and off) which included severe moving pain and stiffness (musculoskeletal), IBs, and Interstitial Cystitis. I have also suffered from anxiety and depression as we all have, I guess.

For two years I thought I was cured through something called the Guaifenesin Protocol. I think it was a sophisticated placebo (which makes me angry at the guaifenesin people) and my body improved for a while and then regressed after a severe stress. This told me the problem was psychological in nature. I saw a local TMS doctor who is pretty sure that Fibro is mostly TMS and that I have it. I borrwed Sarno's tape from him but had to give it back.

I feel pretty anxious right now, although the pain is better (symptom imperative!) If anxiety is part of TMS than that is what I have. How does one deal with the anxiety? I just ordered a book from a TMS doctor who writes about Fibromyalagia (can't remember her name) but got her book off of Shecter's website. It hasn't come yet.

What else should I do? There are no therapists (Psych) who do this kind of thing in my area (Cape Cod) or even in Boston to my knowldge.

Should I get Sarno's DVD or Sheckter's? I think part of my anxiety is designed to distract me from the reality that I have a diagnosis that is "mental." Do emotional states work to stop the patient from accepting TMS?

I am a little wound up but willing to look at this and try to accept it. Any help for Newbies with fibro/anxiety would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jane

shari

USA