TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 please advise
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

neal282

1 Posts

Posted - 12/24/2006 :  14:06:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This my 1st post. I have been doing data entry work for the past 5 yrs. After 2.5 yrs of 15 hrs/week, I started experiencing moderate wrist & lower arm pain. I started seeing a very good massage therapist & after a few sessions, my pain was reduced about 70%. I then started seeing him about once/3 months while also doing self massage. I continued to have some residual pain. I stumbled across an rsi group that claimed to have a high success rate using mind/body techniques & learned about tms. I read a couple of Dr. Sarno's books & my pain level was reduced to less than 10%. 6 weeks ago, I increased my work to 20 hrs/week & experienced my pain level go up to 20%. Is there an adjustment I can make using tms techniques to reduce my pain? Although I know that stopping physical remedies is part of the tms method, I'm tempted to go back for a message session. Is there a way to incorporate massage in my treatment without losing the benefits of the tms method? Thanks for any feedback.

MikeJ

United Kingdom
75 Posts

Posted - 12/24/2006 :  14:48:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If incorporating massage will reinforce your beliefs that it's a physical problem, then I would say it's counterproductive.

Here are a few interesting threads on RSI, some of them are dealing with this issue.
http://tmshelp.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2526&SearchTerms=rsi
http://tmshelp.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2729&SearchTerms=rsi
http://tmshelp.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2426&SearchTerms=rsi
Go to Top of Page

tennis tom

USA
4749 Posts