TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 TMS ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

neilo

United Kingdom
11 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2006 :  08:10:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all
Ive had forearm,wrist and hand pain for 6 years.

Im new to the sarno TMS idea having just read the "mindbody
prescription". I plan to carry on re reading it.

Im excited by this and hope its the breakthrough ive been longing for.I have some questions though.I guess like most people new
to this im not sure if i have a "real" injury or not.

If i don't play guitar, no pain. Why doesn't my brain try to
distract me when i don't play ?

The pain comes not when i play but about 20 minutes afterwards
why ?

The "pain" is often in the form of tightness, as if my tendons and muscles have been overstretched.

My other concern is that, when i first started my rsi journey i had been manically overworking and playing many hours of guitar .
Sounds consistant with an initial physical injury to me???
My thoughts are that maybe TMS latches on to a real injury to make it
last 6 years ?

nm

h2oskier25

USA
395 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2006 :  08:38:17  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well, right up my alley.

Hello nm and welcome to a great forum.

Just as Sarno says, the mind is clever enough to know that you will think you initially "overused" you hands, or tendons or bones or muscles or nerves or whatever.

TMS can only "latch on" to a real injury in your MIND. Not at all in your body.

You sound like you have TMS, big time.

Especially the "hurts 20 minutes later" stuff. A real injury usually hurts while your active.