TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Has anyone recovered from extended NUMBNESS?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

birdpant

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2005 :  18:38:46  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

I'm new to all this.

I think I likely have a TMS diagnosis. My basic big question is:

Can anyone here report having limb numbness that went away with Sarno's treatment? I've had severe low back pain since february (after trying to lift the tongue of an airstream trailer off of a friends hand) and one week ago, after hanging upside down on a trapeze (I teach circus arts, so this is normal activity for me) the top of my right thigh went numb (same side where I have back pain), and it hasn't gone away. Just stays numb.

Would VERY MUCH appreciate hearing about anyone's experience with this.

Thanks,
Laura

Scottydog

United Kingdom
330 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2005 :  07:57:59  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

HI Laura,

I haven't suffered from numbness myself but do a search on this site and it comes up in alot of previous messages.

Anne

Scottydog
Go to Top of Page

Stryder

686 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2005 :  15:32:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I experienced months of numbness in my foot and calf that accompanied my LBP and sciatica (left side).

Basically, the tight muscle ricktus that is causing your back pain is compressing the nerve, or the nerve itself is effected by TMS-based oxygen deprevation.

Regardless, if your are diagnosed with TMS and treat the pain as TMS, your stand a good chance that the numbess will reslove itself over time. Just follow the TMS program as laid out by Dr. Sarno, get examined by a TMS doc to rule out any serious condition, and if you come up clean then start doing the psychological work.