TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 new to TMS
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rags2threads

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 06/06/2005 :  13:41:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new to all of this, previous to 4 days ago I had never heard of TMS and the problems that it can cause. I have a question with regards to traveling pain. My husband has been in the chronic pain cycle for 3 1/2 yrs now, lower back pain that also is running down his leg(has been diagnoised with the usual causes bulging discs, etc). I have been telling him about TMS and what I have recently learned, and last night the pain in his back disapeared, which is great, but he ended up with full blown insomia. Has anyone else had this happen and what do you do about the traveling issues, he is still skeptical, but thinks it might be possible, about TMS, hasn't read the book. We live in Ohio and there aren't any dr's, etc, that treat this in our area, I truly believe what he has is TMS as he fits the profiles that I have seen as to the type of person that ends up with TMS.

Dave

USA
1864 Posts

Posted - 06/06/2005 :  14:49:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Symptom substitution is common, and it is a good sign. The fact that the back pain disappeared should be very encouraging. However, expect it to return, and maybe worse than before. TMS is clever and it won't give up without a fight.
Go to Top of Page

Stryder

686 Posts

Posted - 06/09/2005 :  11:29:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sounds promising. Start by reading Dr. Sarno's books. Many of us have never seen a TMS doc and have found progress through education and support on this forum.

Take care, -Stryder
Go to Top of Page

2scoops

USA
386 Posts